A Change of Pace

Hello, faithful readers!

I have some bad news for you: I will be reducing the amount of posts produced per week. Why? Because I’ve suddenly gotten very busy and it’s gotten to be a bit too much for me.

As I’ve mentioned in other posts, I will be beginning my Master’s of Science in Library Science this fall. As I may not have mentioned, I was accepted by the University of Kentucky and, in addition to that, I’ve been offered a full fellowship! This nonworking fellowship will pay for tuition, provide a living stipend, and help support varies fees and material, but it also necessitates that I go to school full-time. I also plan on maintaining my full-time job (as long as I’m able to, anyway), so it will get progressively more and more difficult to maintain the grueling schedule I’ve set myself. However, I am very excited to continue my schooling and just blown away by this fellowship opportunity. I’ve known about it for a few weeks, and I’m still having trouble processing it.

But why, you may ask, are you cutting down on posts in May when you won’t even start school until the fall? Another good question.

This past month has seen a sudden and somewhat unexpected increase in publication opportunities. A fellow writer has commissioned me to illustrate her short story, one of my very favorite literature magazines is interested in publishing a short comic, and I’ve been asked to write for one of my favorite reading web sites. Trying to do all of that and this blog has resulted in extended deadlines and rushed work, which I simply cannot abide, especially since paid publication is my ultimate goal. So, to prevent myself from going insane and to ensure that I’m still putting out quality work, I’ve decided to limit my blog output now.

Unfortunately, I cannot yet share the work with you. Some of it is still in process, other parts are being edited or are in the publication queue. However, rest assured that when I have links to share, I absolutely will.

I started this blog over a year ago and started consistently publishing on it almost exactly a year ago. I am very grateful for all the people who have wanted to read my work and who have cheered me on. If any of my readers have suggestions about new topics, reoccurring pieces, and preferences, please let me know! I’m always trying to improve.

So thanks for reading, and thanks for your support!

— POM

New Schedule 5-8-16

3 thoughts on “A Change of Pace

  1. Jesska says:

    Congratulations on getting the fellowship (although if everything is paid for, why are you going to kill yourself working fulltime on top of studying?), and all the ither offers/requests – that’s awesome and it’s totally understandable that you’re going to cut back on posting 🙂

    Like

    • clbutor says:

      Thank you!

      I’ve gotten that basic question a lot since I was told about the fellowship. The stipend is pretty nice, and I could live off of it, but it’s less than I currently make, which means my budget would get even tighter. Certain bills (see: medical) I can’t really make any smaller or extend out farther without incurring penalties. So I’d at least like to try full school and full work for a while to pay off my bills and actually shore up my savings. I also currently work at a library with hopes of moving up within the system, so it doesn’t really make sense to me to quit working at a library while going to school to work at a library. However, I’ve already talked it over with my supervisor, and we’ve discussed going part-time if I need to. I hope not because then I wouldn’t be able to do a lot of really cool projects, but it’s nice to know I have the option.

      Like

Leave a Reply

