Adventures in Reading – November 9 – November 15, 2015

What did I read (and finish) this week? Look below to find out.

This was actually a very slow week for reading. While I started several books and comics, I did not end up finishing many. There was actually only one thing I finished this week. Perhaps I will do better next time.

Bitch Planet, Vol. 1: Extraordinary Machine by Kelly Sue DeConnick (2015) – Bitch Planet is about a future where Earth is run by the Patriarchy and women are, at best second-class citizens. Any woman deemed Non-Compliant can be shipped off to the prison planet colloquially known as “Bitch Planet.” I had previously viewed the volume on this post. After a second reading, I found that I enjoyed it much more and was able to notice several details that had escaped me such as the usage of pink to denote violence, information about Penny Rolle’s father and grandmother, and theories about Meiko’s family. I’m glad I re-read it, but now I’m dying for more issues. Come on, guys, pump them out!

Leave a Reply

