Daily WTF: The Release of Kim Davis

Mike Huckabee, Kim Davis, and Davis' lawyer Photo taken from: http://abcnews.go.com/US/kentucky-clerk-kim-davis-set-released-jail/story?id=33601309

Mike Huckabee, Kim Davis, and Davis’ lawyer
Photo taken from: http://abcnews.go.com/US/kentucky-clerk-kim-davis-set-released-jail/story?id=33601309

I like to hope that somewhere out there in the world, someone saw the headline “Rowan County Clerk Kim Davis Leaves Jail” and thought, ‘Oh, I bet the POM isn’t going to like that.’ Because at this point I have referenced Kim Davis and her abusive, selfish, bigoted decision no less than six times, wasting thousands of words on a person that honestly shouldn’t be worth my time. But here we are at post seven. Life’s funny that way.

Let’s get to the point: I hate the fact that Kim Davis was released from jail less than a week after being found in contempt of court. I hate that she was able to deny Rowan County citizens marriage licenses for over two months, disregard the express orders of several different federal courts, waste thousands of tax-payer dollars on a frivolous lawsuit, never once apologize for or acknowledge the pain and humiliation she forced her constituents to endure, and then walks away after not even five full days in jail. I hate that she’s going to get to go back to her job like nothing happened. I hate that she’s about to go on a cross-county/cross-state speaking tour and make thousands of dollars from like-minded donors. I hate that I have to see her face beaming at me because she’s beaten those dirty gays and prevented them from taking away her God. I hate that she doesn’t feel the weight of any consequence for her abuse. And I hate that people will think she’s won.

In a perfect world, Kim Davis would lose her job and fall into obscurity. In a perfect world, Presidential candidates across the aisle would roundly condemn her. In a perfect world, people wouldn’t have cheered for her early release. But, unfortunately, this is not a perfect world, and I must once again live with the fact that this woman is free and most likely will discriminate against someone else soon.

I won’t wish her ill because I don’t believe in spreading hate. I may feel hate. I may feel that only negative consequences are right for some people’s actions, but I will not wish her ill. I will also not will her well. I will simply wish that I and the rest of the world can stop hearing about her because the fact of the matter is she’s not important. She’s not a crusader against tyranny. She’s not a defender of the Bill of Rights. She’s a self-righteous abuser who believes she is above the law. She’s a butt. She’s a bully. And she’s not worth any of our damn time.

Leave a Reply

