Daily WTF: The Duggar Life

duggars-peopleEvery morning when I wake up, I check my Google feed and click on interesting or amusing articles. Today I saw “I Could’ve Been a Duggar Wife: I Grew Up in the Same Church, and the Abuse Scandal Doesn’t Shock Me” by Brooke Arnold and hosted by Salon.com. I clicked on it. I read it. I wish I hadn’t. I grew angry. And now here we are.

I encourage everyone to read this article and to learn more about what it’s like to live in a deeply religious and rigidly controlled community. I encourage those who think women should “live Biblically” (whatever the hell that’s supposed to mean) to read about women’s experience from someone’s first-hand knowledge. I encourage those who think it’s fun to watch 19 Kids and Counting or who are joking about the Duggar sex scandal to read it.

As for me, I have no words. I’ve never watched 19 Kids and Counting or similar shows like The Following and Sister Wives, and I refuse to give the Duggars more ratings by following their shameful and disgusting scandal. I will not engage in arguments about whether or not Joshua simply had “youthful indiscretions.” I will not even discuss how unconscionable and hypocritical it is that society will condemn to death a black boy for being large but will defend vehemently a white boy charged with incest and rape. I can only say, “Read Brooke Arnold’s article. Read it and think about what it really must be like living in the Duggar’s household and their community. Read it and think about yourself and your family and friends living in it. Educate yourself. And then support the victims. They’re the ones that need you.”

Leave a Reply

